THAILAND NIGHTLIFE REVIEW

 

 

Welcome to my website.  Unlike the universe, this website has a purpose: to offer rants, tirades, opinions and discussion about books on Thailand, give an overview of nightlife in Thailand and, yes, to provide a few news items which might not appear elsewhere.  And to have some fun.

Bar, club and restaurant owners who would like to send material on their special events, birthday bashes, anniversary parties, etc., are welcome to do so but please remember men in Thailand are a bit jaded so if you’re just going to offer the usual free gourmet food and free full band entertainment and free beautiful and eager-to-please women, well, the lads have been there, done that. So do try to offer potential patrons something special. ;-)

There is a contest every month when this column appears and the first to answer the question correctly or identify a photograph correctly will receive vouchers worth at least 4,000 baht in food and drink, i.e., 500 baht each, from Larry's Dive, Shadow Bar, The Old Dutch, the Big Mango, Electric Blue, The Duke of Wellington pub, Doll House and Bourbon Street Restaurant. The prizes will build up in case anyone doesn't win it immediately so the bonanza for the eventual winner could get quite interesting.  It will double to 8,000 and, if still no winner, to 12,000, etc.  Second prize is a "I Support Single Moms" T-shirt.  Third prize is an After Dark calendar.  And please remember a part of all money received from the sale of my books goes to needy Thais (in the form of payment to go go dancers, waitresses and hostesses).

NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR LOST ITEMS!

PLEASE DO NOT LEAVE YOUR BELONGINGS OR BARFINED WOMEN UNATTENDED WHILE READING THIS COLUMN!

..........................

Book Signing

Permanent Damage, sequel to Skytrain to Murder, is now out and will soon be in Thailand's stores.  The book signing will be, as always, at the Texas Lone Star Saloon, Washington Square.  As usual, it will be from 2:30 to 4:30 on a Saturday.  And, of course, the lovely ladies of the Lone Star will be there to fulfill your every desire, cater to your every need.  Ladies drinks are cheap so buy them one or three with your free meal.

 

 

Signing: Saturday, 7 August, free lunch at 3:00.

In stores Permanent Damage is 450 baht.  At the signing the book will be 300 baht.

 

 

(Please note: Microsoft Front Page has changed to a different system ("The server was migrated to a new platform" whatever the fuck that means) and there are some glitches so many of the recent text and pix I entered for this month have yet to appear.  The new system is also why this column did not get up until about 9 a.m. on the 1st of August.  A real pain in the badong it has been!)

 

******************* ******************* *******************

 

ANOTHER NATAREE BEAUTY

 

 

For me, all religions are nothing but glorified tribal myths; male-created, male-dominated bullshit playing to our fear of death to gain power, obedience and money.  And, yet, every time I enter the Nataree Massage Parlor I say to myself: Well, yes, surely there must be a higher power to have created such a heaven on earth.

 

 

******************* ******************* *******************

 

Tacos & Salsa

Mexican Restaurant

 

 

Jorge Bernal is the genial proprietor of Tacos & Salsa, the small Mexican restaurant right there on Sukhumvit near soi 22.  It used to be around the corner down a soi but has been on Sukhumvit for about a year.  Jorge is Mexican himself and does he ever know his Mexican food!  I had two frozen margaritas and chicken enchilada.  It was excellent, better than the one across the street at Coyotes, and the bill (for the same items) came to about 200 baht less than Coyotes.  But to be fair to Coyotes, that might be comparing mangos and dildos because Coyotes is a Tex-Mex restaurant and does not claim to offer authentic Mexican food as does Tacos & Salsa.  I also like the fact that at Tacos & Salsa, condiments are out on the table.  At Coyotes if you want any more you have to order them and they are expensive.

 

Coyotes does have more female employees, always a plus in my narrow worldview, and they have a copy of the International Herald Tribune, another plus.  But I do think I will be enjoying more of my Mexican dishes at Tacos & Salsa.  Good food and not expensive.  And as you can see in the picture, colorful!

 

 

******************* ******************* *******************

 

Around and About

 

 

Khun Cheer continues to inspire at Mojos.  What, no whip to go with those outfits?

 

***********************

 

And the Heineken girl at Londoner gives us a big smile.

 

***********************

 

It had to happen: First near Nana and now on Soi Cowboy.  Twenty baht to take a picture of the insects for sale.  I confess I didn't pay for the shot.  And don't forget the new regulation: you get fined in Bangkok if you feed elephants.  Barfined?

 

***********************

 

 

 

Tried to get a shot of Penalty Spot on Sukhumvit but was a little plastered.  I have to admit when the Penalty Spot opened in that area, kind of halfway between Soi Cowboy and Soi 33, I didn't think much of its survival chances.  But it certainly has weathered all the storms.  And they offer peanuts.  And they'll salt them if you ask reeeaaaal nice.  Wall Street was quiet and at 9:30 on a Wednesday, I think it was, the owner and two of his friends were the only ones inside the Green Parrot.  No doubt that was because the game with Germany was to begin about 1:30 in the morning.  I think the only reason small bars on Soi 33 survive is because they build up a local clientele.  Them that do, goes on, them that don't, goes under.  Last pictures are of course shots of Soi Cowboy.  Quiet times, and real purty girls trying to get customers inside.  And in desperate times, desperate bar hostesses do desperate things.  Be careful out there.

 

 

 

And here is a lovely lady at the Texas Lone Star Saloon quite happy to show off her lovely hair and long legs.  To see her face you got to go there.  Here is a photo of the latest development on the building going up across the street designed to keep me awake.  And, of course, a crowd of folks at the Emporium listening to some panel of, I guess, movie stars and models. 

 

 

And the winner is...

 

I ran a test recently to see which used book store in Bangkok gives the most for your books.  I took ten books down to Elite books on Sukhumvit near Villa Market, and a few days later, ten books of the same quality to Dasa Books, also on Sukhumvit but a couple blocks up from the Emporium.  In each case, the books were paperbacks in very good condition, mainly detective and spy novels by authors of the same level of fame.  I wanted to make sure the test was fair.  Well, the guy at Elite paid me 180 baht for ten books.  The folks at Dasa had several copies of three of them so they only bought seven; for which they paid 280 baht.  So now you know where to sell your books.  'Nuff said?

 

 

 

 

I am always on the lookout for new outlets for books, new or used.  There is on Sukhumvit soi 8 a small restaurant called CUP C.  They have about 500 books and a nice selection.  Most books are in very good condition.  They accept trade-ins and have just started a promotion trade in 2 books get 1 similar book no charge. They say they are always interested in buying but "not ratty stuff."  The food is Thai and actually very good.  They also serve coffee, cappuccino, smoothies, etc. What I like about it is that it's a nice place to hang out as many people sit and read books here.  Their plan is in the near future to make the second floor into a huge book area with about 2,000 books and a reading area.  If you know of other places like this, let me know and I'll be happy to mention them.

 

A Soi Cowboy Beauty!  Brown skin, black hair, white sheet: PURE ART!

 

******************* ******************* *******************

 

 

Soccer, oh yes, a parting shot, if I may.  The bullshit is over, the horns are silent, and we can hear ourselves talk in bars, pubs and restaurants again.  Life is good.  But in Germany, an Italian guy was arguing with two Germans over which country won more world cups and the argument escalated and the Italian shot the two Germans dead.  Those few of you with drug-free memories may recall that I said that in Vietnam during the war, the GI's had a saying: "It's dumb to die in 'Nam."  Well, how fucking dumb is it to argue over what country has won more sports prizes!  And to kill or be killed over such stupidity?  Note for soccer fan fanatics: Life is short; get one.

 

 

 

 

New Refrigerators & Old "Friends"

 

 

I went to Carrefour the other day on Rama 6 to buy a new refrigerator.  It may sound like no big deal but the old refrigerator, for reasons best known to itself, stopped making ice cubes.  That was a big deal.  No ice cubes, no black russians or Wild Turkey on the rocks, ergo no columns and no novels.  Because white, blue and pink pills can only do so much.  The two sales people I dealt with did not speak English so in my best Thai (it was the best of Thai, it was the worst of Thai) I bought a refrigerator.  At least, I hoped I did.  My fear was I had spoken some tones wrong and what would be delivered would be a flat screen TV or a washing machine.  Besides, not being able to cook, I know nothing about refrigerators and dealing with a new one scares the hell out of me.

 

But all is well, two guys just delivered it.  They of course spoke no English either and the slim booklet explaining how everything works is all in Thai.  I don't read Thai.  The guy said don't plug it in for 30 minutes.  I wanted to ask, Why the fuck not?  But I assume there is a reason guys delivering refrigerators say things like that so I said something like of course, as if I knew that already.  (If you know why, let me know.  If I had plugged it in after just 20 minutes would it have exploded?)

 

When they left I asked the Thai maid (the hallway maid; I can't afford a maid just for my apartment because you aren't buying my books, but I digress) what the part in the booklet said with the caution sign about plugging it in.  That's when I found out she doesn't read Thai either.  OK, the hell with it.  And the thing I really feared was that the refrigerator would come in a box and I would have to assemble it myself (Carrefour sells lots of shit like that) and it would be loaded with all kinds of wires and connections like computers, and I would have to figure it all out.  But thank the gods it seemed to be a matter of just putting in the plug.  I eventually summoned up my courage and put the plug into the wall.  No explosion.  So I put water in the ice cube tray.  And waited.  Nothing happened.  At first.  But then a light went on and I am happy to say ice cubes seem to be forming.  It takes so little to make some of us happy.

 

And that brings us to the old friends part.  All of us living in Thailand will now and again get sweet requests from Thai women who seem to think that we could greatly improve their lives if we could "lend" them some money.  But, usually, it is from a woman we have known over a period of time or at least if briefly then fairly recently.  But last week I received an e-mail and a follow-up e-mail requesting five thousand baht from a one-night stand over five years ago!  That has got to be some kind of record. The e-mail was titled Hope U Might Remember Me and gave the exact date and enclosed an attached picture.  (No, not a blackmail picture, just a picture of her on a beach somewhere.)  Needless to say, the letter involved a description of illness, bad luck, accident, medicine bills and even losing a hotel job because of the red shirt insurrection. 

 

Now her problems could all be real and I'm only human, I hate to say no to someone in need.  And I'm extremely loyal to friends.  But as someone once said to me when she realized I was helping out another girl, "You can't save them all."  And five years is a long time, and, at the moment, 5,000 baht is a lot of money.  So I haven't replied to the girl and don't intend to do so.  If any good-hearted soul out there has 5,000 baht to "lend" let me know and I will give you her e-mail.         

 

******************* ******************* 
 

 

 

 

******************* ******************* ******************* ******************* ******************* 

 

TWO NIGHTS IN AYUDHYA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For many more pictures of Ayudhya click here: Two Nights in Ayudhya

 

 

************************************** ******************* *******************  ******************* ******************* 

 

http://www.ClubElectricBlue.com

*******************  *******************

Khun Nana's Corner

Khun Nana is a savvy local expat who keeps in shape by hitting most of the bars of Nana Plaza as often as possible.  From his vast experience, he will enlighten and entertain us with his recollections of the bar scene be they humorous, tragic or somewhere in between.

I love Thai women so much, but if there is one thing that really irks me about them it is their tendency to be possessive and controlling with their boyfriends.  Most of the time I just laugh it off much like a Thai man would when one of my little squeeze toys starts to go whacko on me, but every once in a while I run across one who is just too far removed from planet earth and I have to cut her loose.  Just the other day, I had a first date with a gal who I had been trying to go out with for quite some time.  She is young, tall and slim, with a perfect body and a face that would stop traffic in any other city.  We went to her favorite Japanese restaurant and it appeared that we were getting along fine as she asked me to sit next to her in the restaurant booth instead of across from her.  We had a nice talk and I was my usual first-date gentlemanly self, listening to all of her problems (why do women feel like they can throw all of their problems on a guy while on a first date?) and flirting with her all the while.  I even liked her enough to turn down first-date sex, declining to go back to her place when she offered, instead gasping her hand and saying a quick goodbye at the taxi stand.  Thinking all had gone well, I made my way back home to get ready for my second date of the evening (and the second gal was very filthy looking and definitely quite do-able-so maybe my second date was the real reason I didn’t bang the first one?) and felt I had made the right choice turning down sex with the first gal, as she was probably a keeper.  Oh what a mistake that was going to turn out to be.  I should definitely have nailed the first gal while I had the chance, as she turned out to be one of the previously mentioned “whacko” types with a dark and brooding personality.

 

One thing I need to explain here is that there is an unwritten code among local playboys about dealing up front with the gals.  If the gal is a “keeper” or in other words a person you would be interested in getting to know better, then one is considerably less sexually aggressive.  On the other hand, if during the first date one has already decided that he won’t be inviting her out again for whatever reason (not as pretty as had first thought, jealous, too shy or not shy enough etc.) then might as well try to nail her right away as you got absolutely nothing to lose.  Unfortunately, as with all things between men and women on this planet, women are privy to our plans and know that the more aggressive we are, the less interested in them we are.  Hell, I never said any method is foolproof.

 

I was busy the next few days, and about 3 days after my first date with the sexy gal I sent her a SMS saying that I missed her and hoped to meet again.  Imagine my shock and horror when she sent a return message saying I was a bad guy and she didn’t believe a word I said.  Well, I really don’t like talking to babes on the phone (normally I just send text messages) but I grabbed my mobile and called to find out what all this negativity was about.  The conversation was so bizarre that I felt like I was in one of those cartoons where the dog barks at its owner and the dog thinks it saying one thing but the owner only hears “ruff ruff ruff.”  Here is how it went down:

 

What she said: “I don’t know what your problem is not calling me for 3 days.  When I have a boyfriend I expect him to take care of me and be there for me when I need him. What do you mean you went out with your friends last night?  When I have a boyfriend I don’t like it if he goes out with his friends a lot.  He should be there beside me, taking care of my needs.”

 

What I heard:  “I am a jealous, controlling and manipulative bitch.  You really don’t want to get to know me any longer because I will make your life a living hell.  I will make you wish you were dead.  You stupid clueless bastard, you should have nailed me on the first date when you had the chance.”

 

So the lesson here is that if you have any doubt as to whether or not you will be asking the gal out on a second date, might as well have dirty filthy monkey sex with her so as to cover all of your options.  If you never see her again then at least you got yours, and if you do see her again then at least she knows what an incredibly stud you are. 

 

I have been wondering lately if there is any significance in the pronouns that we choose to use in our everyday conversation.  My first several years in Paradise, when walking past a gorgeous woman I would comment to either myself or to the mate I was with “she looks really hot!”  Now when this happens I usually say “that looks really hot!”  I wonder………….does using “that” instead of “she” mean that I objectify women?  Naaaaaaaaaaaaaah no way.  Dean I am getting soft in my advanced age.

Until next time.  Khun Nana

************************************** ******************* *******************  ******************* ******************* 

 

People in the News

 

 

 

Mel Gibson is getting himself into hot water again for ranting; this time against his live-in companion, Oksana Grigorieva.  He has called her every name in the book and admitted he hit her and said something to the effect that she looked like a pig.  Well, we all know women have great assistance from A. makeup, B. dress, C. attitude.  But, even so, I must say his girlfriend does not look bad to me at all!  Not at all.  I would not kick her out of bed even if she spilled nam pla on the pillow.  Or if she spilled somtam all over the sheet.  Or if she set the bedroom on fire.  But that's just me.

 

 

 

 

And, oh yes, let us not forget Anna, the attractive Russian spy, accused of having in ten years infiltrated the PTA or spied on Little League baseball matches or whatever.  But what interests me are the comments from her former husband:

 

"The pair experimented with S&M, and Anna sometimes liked to pose as a KGB interrogator as she took the role of dominatrix and wielded a whip."  "I found her Russian accent such a turn-on," he said. "She was the most beautiful person I had ever met, with an extraordinary body, and I was infatuated with her."

 

Oh, Anna, my Anna, you had such a great future ahead of you as a dominatrix and then you had to blow it all by spying on the Parent-Teachers Association meetings in America's suburbia.  Anna is a baaaad girl!  Anna needs to be punished!  I wonder if she has any plans to open up an S&M parlor in Moscow...  Just think if she and Oksana got together.  Yum, yum, yum. 

 

A beautiful KGB interrogator/dominatrix.  No, it's best not to dwell on that image.  Nope.  Stop it, I said!

 

 

And then of course we have our 90-year-old Uncle Joe in Chiang Mai accused of raping little girls.  Ninety-years old?!

"German-Australian man Joseph Kraus Karl, 90, is escorted by tourist police at his home in Chiang Mai, on June 29. Karl has been arrested on charges of allegedly raping and molesting four underaged girls in the province. He has denied the charges police said. Parents of the four allegedly abused girls, aged from 7 to 14, accused Karl of using sweets and money to lure the minors to his home where they claimed he sexually abused them on several occasions."  Police also said: "Despite his age he still seems to have the desire, although we don't know whether he could act on it," Prawit said. "But under Thai law any form of penetration is considered rape."  An Trink would have said, any comment would be superfluous...

 

And, also in the news, according to a coroner's report, this British nanny died while using a sex toy while watching porn.  I told you people to be careful out there...

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/world/2010/07/09/2010-07-09_coroner_says_uk_nanny_loved_herself_to_death.html

 

 

 

 

According to a newspaper article some singer named Kate Perry tamed 'professional prostitute' Russell Brand by refusing to sleep with him on the first date.  "She denied him sex."  OK, oldest move in the book, right?  But I have a problem with this in this case because the article says: "The pop songstress forced her now-fiancé, who "used to basically be a professional prostitute," to take her out on a date. A week later, the duo was on vacation in Thailand."  I mean, in politically correct, Judeo-Christian, puritanical, women-rule wimp male societies, it would be quite possible for a woman to use sex denial as a weapon.  But they were in Thailand!  Did he not get out the door of his hotel room to notice that there are more beautiful, available women per square meter than anywhere else in the world?  The mind boggles...

 

 

 

This, of course, is the lovely Chinese actress Gong Li now starring in the film Shanghai.   I had a feeling Shanghai might be a good film, a film for adults, and it wasn't at the Emporium so I went out to Major Cinema Sukhumvit, soi 61, a shopping mall/cinema complex swarming with Thais under 21.  Or less.  Anyway, I knew when I got into the theater that it would be a good film because I was the only one there.   Not just the only farang, the only one in the audience.  Which made it even colder.  Anyway, it is an action-packed film set in Shanghai just before Japan bombs Pearl Harbor and Shanghai and wow what great atmosphere!  It is almost good enough to call it the Casablanca for the East.   Eat at Rick's, get murdered in Shanghai.  It really is a good film, see it!  And as for Gong Li, as we say in mandarin, jen tamade piaoliang!  (fucking beautiful!)

 

 

And from beauty to bimbo here is - and I kid you not - the woman with the biggest breasts in the world.  Triple K!

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/2010/07/14/2010-07-14_sheyla_hersheys_recordbreaking_triplef_breasts_could_kill_her_after_postsurgery_.html

 

 

 

 

 

And a bra that serves wine.  I need a drink.

http://www.nydailynews.com/lifestyle/fashion/2010/07/15/2010-07-15_thats_amore____now_more_a_36c_bra_you_can_pump_full_of_wine_can_be_any_womans_se.html

 

 

****************  ****************

 

 

 

 

 

****************  ****************

 

.....................

 

Jesus endorsement

 

 

**************** *******************  ****************

 

 

There are times, and quite frequently, that I read things in the local Thai newspapers and simply say to myself "Hello, this must be Thailand."  Because otherwise trying to understand or actually make sense of what I read would lead to being strapped down in an asylum.  Hence, it is best just to say to yourself, hello, this must be Thailand, and move on.  Below, from the Nation, is the kind of thing I am talking about:

"Another group with reasons to stay away from the cinema is bad drivers - at least in Phuket. While police in Hat Yai and Songkhla have opted to punish traffic law violators with a sermon at the local temple, police in Phuket are herding miscreants into a theatre."

A sermon at a local temple?  A theatre?  OK, moving right along...

 

**************** *******************  ****************

 

Yep, they are temporarily out of calendars but After Dark magazine is not out of lovely women.

 

**************** *******************  ****************

 

Surprise!  Nuff said?

 

**************** *******************  ****************

 

"What Do I Feel When I Kill A Terrorist?  A Little Recoil"
 

 

**************** *******************  ****************

 

Hong Kong

 

 

As some readers know, I lived in Hong Kong for 17 years (before the British turned it over to China).  I spent a few days back there recently and it was a lot of fun and there are always new tourist attractions as well.  On my last evening I decided against my better judgment to check out the prices of drinks in the Wanchai bars.  It had been many years since I went into one of the bars as the prices of drinks seemed to be higher than prices in Manhattan.  But I knew I had an obligation to readers of this column and Admiral Nelson did say something about England expecting every man to do his duty so I squared my shoulders and pushed past the middle-aged Chinese mama-san on the sidewalk and into a bar with Filipina go go dancers and two Thai go go dancers. 

 

After a bit of dialogue with the mama-san, she brought over the two Thais and we had a nice chat.  My beer was 55 Hong Kong dollars and each of their drinks - the lowest of three levels I could pay - were 121 Hong Kong dollars.  One Hong Kong dollar is four baht.  So my drink was 220 baht and each of their drinks was 484 baht.  But it isn't just the price of the drinks that put me off; the women were fine to talk to, but the bars of Wanchai just don't have sanuk, or fun of Thailand's bars.  It just doesn't work; at least not for those of us lucky enough to be in Thailand.  And God only know what the going rate inside a Wanchai bar is for a barfine!

 

**************** *******************  ****************

 

 

 

Letters from Readers

 

 

 

oh, you are going to love this one - !! 
 
I get an email from an old friend in NY. - his pastor's landlord has always been fascinated w/Thailand and is going for the first time - so, I offer my services - free travel advice always available, you might call it a hobby. My friend emails the landlord, possibly through the pastor - ?? - - who is likely a fairly hip guy.
 
In the email, he tells the landlord that I write books and forwards several reviews of my work that he found, including one on your website, which I do appreciate. And this is the response back to me from my friend. John is the pastor:
 
"I spoke with John this morning and mentioned your interest in being of assistance to his landlord again and was shocked and saddened when he said that the landlord was offended or something like that by a website that I had sent along because it had a description of one of your books."
 
Yes. This guy was so offended by your website that he wants nothing to do with me merely because my book was reviewed on your site. 
 
And of course, the kicker is that the landlord is not making a first trip. He has been here many times. Surely he cannot get enough of the museums. Ah, they still suffer guilt in the Western World - what a shame. 
 
Maybe I will see you at the Lone Star on the 7th - - I have already recommended it on to an acquaintance... 
 
All is well here, Ken
 

********************************
 

Dear sir,
   I was there, so I can say with certainty that the first picture was taken next to the vending machine inside the Furher Bunker, and the second picture was taken at the spot where Adolf and Eva were cremated along with what was left of the Third Reich.  I await my prize money. Sincerely, Utah Ken

 

P.S. PC warriors removed Churchill's cigar (FDR's cigarette holder and MacArthur's corncob pipe are next) in one picture, but when was the last time you saw any picture of Santa with the pipe he used to blow smoke rings over his head? The anti-smoking lobby and the PC police have one goal in mind: telling you what to think and how to act, like good little Nazis. Hitler, the non-smoker, wins!

 

************************************

Dean,

BTW, that Isaan wench I was talking about happened to look over my
shoulder right now, and inspected your photo. You know what she said?
"Scroll down little bit honeyja!"  You know why? She wanted to check out
the young ladies brand of purse on the bed.

Amazing Thailand indeed!
 

 

****************  ****************

 

Links You Might Enjoy

A video of a five-minute walk down Soi Cowboy.  Click here and then click "preview videos."

http://www.pbar.info/videos.html

 

Like to check out some bars in Thailand?  Try

http://www.bangkokbarfun.com.

Like to know what music is playing where in Bangkok each week?  Try http://www.bangkokgigguide.com.

Like to know more in depth about what music is playing where in Bangkok each week?  Try this great site:

http://www.bangkokjungle.com.

 

Tired of shoveling snow?  Check out Bangkok's sunshine.

 

Bangkok's weather report.

 

 

 

A great site for listening to Thai Morlan music and other folk music of Southeast Asia.

 

www.monsoon-country.org

 

 

 

A bit of black leather never hurts.  But she does.

 

Our Lady in Black

 

 

 

Like to learn a bit about retiring in Asia?

 

http://www.retiredexpat.com

 

 

 

Maps of all the provinces of Thailand

 

http://www.thailand-guide.org/maps/index.htm

 

 

 

Listen to RadioBangkok.net

 

mms://wma.radiobangkok.net/bangkok32?MSWMExt=.asf

 

 

 

Helping Kids in Thailand

 

Helping Thai Kids

 

 

 

A fine independent Pattaya Bookstore:

 

www.canterburytalescafe.com

 

 

Links You Might Not Enjoy

Politically incorrect rants and raves from Uncle Fred.

http://www.fredoneverything.net

 

Girlfriends looking for Taliban boyfriends.

Taliban Singles Dating Page

 

Very satirical writing and videos.

http://www.thenoseonyourface.com

*********************

Do you have a product or service you would like to advertise on this website? You can, you know. In fact, you don’t have to have a product or service at all; you can just send me money. Or perhaps you would like me to plug a product or service that you are involved in? Sure, just send me cash. Be sure, however, to mark the outside envelope:

“Birthday money for Dean Barrett –

Absolutely No Bribe Enclosed

Got feedback to this column?  Got information on Thailand you would like to share?  Happy as a dung beetle to be living in Paradise?  Been ripped off?  Just write me.

********************* *********************

CONTEST

Enter and win a prize! This contest's first prize is worth 4,000 baht in food and drink vouchers.  The first to give the correct answer wins the vouchers; second wins the sexy shirt; third wins Nada Diddly-Squat Special.

     First prize:        Vouchers for food and drink from bars, pubs and restaurants in Bangkok

     Second prize:       Nifty shirt with the "I Support Single Moms" slogan

     Third prize:        Nada Diddly-Squat Special 4 U, U number ten!

 

Be the first to tell me the names of these places, yep, all of them:

************************************

Winners last column:  Mojos & Washington Square.  Many folks got one right and one wrong.  Nope, not inside Bourbon Street.  Only one winner.


*********************

That's all for this fortnightly column.  Drop by again.  Explore the rest of the website.  Meanwhile, as the girls used to tell me during the 1960's: "I no lie you, GI, I love you long time; you number one!" 

And, remember: nothing says goodbye like a bullet.  And the more people I meet the more bullets I need.

 


 

Dean Barrett can be flamed at: deanbarr@loxinfo.co.th

 

 

************************************************************************************

"At least one thing seems certain: against people who are ready to die in the cause of destroying freedom, people who are not willing to speak up for freedom for fear of being called a racist or an Islamophobe don't stand much chance of victory."

********************

 

More News on the "Religion of Peace"

 

The "Religion of Peace" continues to visit Southern Thailand

 

Just some of the recent atrocities committed by Muslims in Thailand

 

 

2010.07.04 Thailand Yala - Two people are killed when Islamic insurgents detonate a bomb outside a school.

 

2010.07.02 Thailand Yala - Jihadis take out three school guards with a roadside blast on their vehicle.

 

2010.07.02 Thailand Pattani - A 46-year-old man is gunned down by Muslim radicals while riding home.

 

2010.07.01 Thailand Narathiwat - Civilians are among five shot to pieces at point-blank range by Muslim radicals while riding in a truck.

 

2010.06.21 Thailand Pattani - A mother and two children suffer shrapnel injuries when Muslim rivals toss a grenade into their mosque.

 

2010.06.19 (Pattani, Thailand) - A married couple is murdered in their car by Religion of Peace gunmen, who also injure their 2-year-old daughter.

 

And Many More badly Wounded

 

 

(Isn't it interesting how silent the Bangkok Post is about all this.  Yet they have lots of space to run stories and photos on pandas and a boring, predictable column written by a Muslim fanatic every other Sunday.)

 

 

 

 

 

Over 4,000 Thais including monks and teachers and children have been murdered by Muslims in Southern Thailand and

over 45 Thais have been beheaded including Buddhist monks

 

.........................................

 

 

 

 

"Men never do evil so completely and cheerfully as when they do it from religious conviction." (Blaise Pascal, mathematician, 1670)

 

********************

Stop Honorcide!

http://www.stopshariahnow.org/

********************

MUSLIMS IN INDIA CHOP OFF CATHOLIC PROFESSOR'S HAND

Tough day at the office for this Catholic professor, who asked
a 'probing' exam question about Muhammad and wound up
 having his hand chopped off by Religion of Peace proponents.  

http://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2010/07/muslim_extremists_chop_off_han.html

 

********************

MALMO, SWEDEN: MUSLIM HATE FORCES JEWS TO LEAVE

http://www.haaretz.com/jewish-world/jews-reluctantly-abandon-swedish-city-amid-growing-anti-semitism-1.301276

I just applied for a building permit for a new house.

 

It was going to be 100 ft tall and 400 ft wide with 9 turrets at various heights and windows all over the place and a loud outside sound system. It would have parking for 200 cars and I was going to paint it snot green.
 

The Town council told me to get lost.
 

So I sent in the application again, but this time I  called it a mosque.
 

Work starts on Monday.

********************

THE RELIGION OF PEACE (in the real world)

********************

UK: ENGLISH WOMAN'S NEW FACE AFTER MUSLIM BOMB ATTACK IN LONDON 7/7

http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/185382/July-7-bomb-survivor-shows-her-new-face

 

********************

UK: MUSLIM KILLS WRONG COUPLE IN "HONOR KILLING" ATTACK

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1290504/Innocent-couple-killed-house-bombed-bungled-honour-killing.html

 

********************

UNITED KINGDOM: SCHOOLS REARRANGE SCHEDULES & CANCEL LESSONS TO AVOID "OFFENDING MUSLIMS"

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1293833/Council-forces-schools-rearrange-exams-cancel-lessons-avoid-offending-Muslims-Ramadan.html

 

********************

MUSLIMS ATTEMPT TO BEHEAD 'APOSTATE' IN EGYPT

http://www.crosswalk.com/news/religiontoday/11634532/

 

********************

ANOTHER GREAT PAT CONDELL VIDEO

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W3_qelW5qp4

 

********************

CANADA: MUSLIM WANTS TO SLAUGHTER JEWS

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/northamerica/canada/7882761/Muslim-charged-with-plotting-genocide-of-Canadian-Jews.html

 

********************

BBC (The Station that Never Met a Red Shirt it didn't Like)

NOW ACCUSED OF PRO-TALIBAN PROPAGANDA

http://www.politics.co.uk/news/foreign-policy/tory-mp-uneasy-as-bbc-spreads-taliban-propaganda--$21381337.htm

 

********************

USA: MUSLIMS OSTRACIZE MUSLIM WHO HELPED FBI CONVICT FT. HOOD KILLER

http://www.philly.com/inquirer/front_page/20100627_From_star_FBI_witness_to_ostracism__loss.html

 

*********************

WHAT DO THESE WOMEN HAVE IN COMMON?

MUSLIM MEN KILLED THEM IN "HONOR KILLINGS"

 

Killed by Muslim fathers, brothers, etc., for trying to live as a human being

 

Chicago campaign on taxis to stop the Islamization of America & the killing of Muslim women by their family members

..................................

This woman had a nose once; until Muslim men decided she wasn't Muslim enough.  Women want go to school?  Talk to a non-relative?  Muslim men have ways to stop that.  Acid, for one.  Click on the photographs.

91 percent of honor killings worldwide are done by Muslims

84 percent of honor killings in US done by Muslims

********************

********************

    Happening Now in America:

Islamic foot-washing basins in airports; Shariah finance being introduced by American banks; college campuses designating Islamic prayer rooms for Muslims only; Islamic compounds practicing Shariah law springing up across America; public schools using tax dollars to indoctrinate American students into Islam; demands by Muslim parents that their children be provided private prayer rooms in their public schools; Muslim workers demanding special workplace accommodations no other religious person would ask for; creative people being threatened as with South Park; publishers self-censoring out of fear of Muslim anger and hate; plays self-censored out of fear of Muslim backlash; Muslim taxi drivers refusing to allow guide dogs for the blind in their taxis; and the list goes on.  And on.  And on.
 

********************

"How dreadful are the curses which Mohammedanism lays on its votaries! Besides the fanatical frenzy, which is as dangerous in a man as hydrophobia in a dog...No stronger retrograde force exists in the world (than Islam)." Winston Churchill

********************

Mohammad Playing with his Six-year-old Bride to Be

The so-called Prophet Muhammad Married a six-year-old named Aisha and had Sex with the girl by the time she was nine (if not before).  Mohammad ordered the death of two poets who mocked him as well as killed many others.  The Koran is full of hate for non-believers which it equates with "evil-doers."  Islam is not a religion: it is a fanatical brotherhood and hate-filled ideology.  The West continues to ignore the fact that Islam is a clear and present danger to anyone who believes in free speech, an independent judiciary, free press, etc., etc.  Self-censorship is now being practiced in Europe and America to appease Muslims.  The more Muslims a country lets in, the more problems it will have.

********************

Raping boys is called "MAN-LOVING DAY"

Is She or isn't he?

"Sexual abuse of boys in the Islamic religious schools known as madrasas is not uncommon, and neither is the rape of boys in Afghanistan, especially on Thursday, known as “man-loving day,” because Friday prayers are thought to absolve a sinner of all his guilt."

http://www.glapn.org/sodomylaws/world/afghanistan/afnews009.htm

 

********************

"All it takes for evil to triumph is for enough good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke

Ibn Warraq:

The cartoons in the Danish newspaper Jyllands-Posten raise the most important question of our times: freedom of expression. Are we in the west going to cave into pressure from societies with a medieval mindset, or are we going to defend our most precious freedom -- freedom of expression, a freedom for which thousands of people sacrificed their lives? A democracy cannot survive long without freedom of expression, the freedom to argue, to dissent, even to insult and offend...Unless, we show some solidarity, unashamed, noisy, public solidarity with the Danish cartoonists, then the forces that are trying to impose on the Free West a totalitarian ideology will have won; the Islamization of Europe will have begun in earnest.

 

http://www.albawaba.com/en/news/248538

 


********************

Muslim extremists brandishing banners calling British soldiers 'Butchers'

 

  • "The sword of Muhammad and the Quran are the most fatal enemies of civilization, liberty, and the truth which the world has yet known." - The eminent orientalist Sir William Muir (1819-1905)

    `********************

     

    ********************

    Iran 23

    "All religions take care to silence or to execute those who question them...It has, however, been some time since Judaism and Christianity resorted openly to torture and censorship. Not only did Islam begin by condemning all doubters to eternal fire, but it still claims the right to do so in almost all of its dominions, and still preaches that these same dominions can and must be extended by war." - Christopher Hitchens, God is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything

     

    `********************

     

     

    'If the Arabs put down their weapons today, there would be no more violence. If the Jews put down their weapons today, there would be no more Israel.' - Benjamin Netanyahu

     

    ********************

     

    The Bodies of Two Dead Gays in Iran

     

    (killed by adherents of "the religion of peace")

     

    ********************

     

    There is not one Muslim country in the world which gives equal rights to non-Muslims but when Muslims enter other countries they demand more than equal rights!  Write your congressman and tell him to stop kowtowing to Muslims.

     

    “Religion is an insult to human dignity.  With or without it, you would have good people doing good things and evil people doing evil things.  But for good people to do evil things, that takes religion.”        --        by Nobel Laureate physicist Steven Weinberg. 

     

     

    "Mohammad poisoned the sources of human felicity at the fountain, by degrading the condition of the female sex...and he declared undistinguishing and exterminating war, as a part of his religion, against all the rest of mankind. The essence of his doctrine was violence and lust: to exalt the brutal over the spiritual part of human nature" - John Quincy Adams

     

    ********************

     

    FROM THE KORAN:
    —The unbelievers are your inveterate enemy. (4:101)
    —Mohammed is God’s apostle. Those who follow him are ruthless to the unbelievers but merciful to one another. (48:29).
    —It is unlawful for a believer to kill another believer, accidents excepted. (4:92)
    —Believers, take neither the Jews nor the Christians for your friends. (5:51)
    —Make war on them until idolatry shall cease and God’s religion shall reign supreme. (8:40)
    —Fight against them until idolatry is no more and God’s religion reigns supreme. (2:193)
    —The true believers fight for the cause of God, but the infidels fight for the devil.  (4:76)
    —We will put terror into the hearts of the unbelievers. (3:151)
    —I shall cast terror into the hearts of the infidels. Strike off their heads, strike off the very tips of their fingers. (8:12)


    FROM THE SAYINGS OF MUHAMMAD:
    —Muhammad said to the Jews: “If you embrace Islam, you will be safe. You should know that the earth belongs to Allah and His Apostle, and I want to expel you from this land. “
    — Allah’s Apostle said, “You (i.e. Muslims) will fight with the Jews till some of them will hide behind stones. The stones will (betray them) saying, ‘O ‘Abdullah (i.e. slave of Allah)! There is a Jew hiding behind me; so kill him.‘ “
    —Mohammed said, “I have been ordered to fight with the people till they say, “None has the right to be worshipped but Allah, and whoever says, “ None has the right to be worshipped but Allah , his life and property will be saved by me.“ (otherwise it will not). Vol. 4:196
    —Mohammed said, “Whoever changes his Islamic religion, kill him.“ Vol. 9:57
    —Mohammed said, “ No Muslim should be killed for killing a Kafir” (infidel). Vol. 9:50
    —Muhammad said: “Fight in the name of Allah and in the way of Allah. Fight against those who disbelieve in Allah. Make a holy war, … “. (Sahih Muslim 4294)

     

     

     

     

     

    Some books that tell it like it is!

     

    Now on trial in Holland for "insulting Islam"

     

     

    The Islamization of Europe

    Muslims are rapidly destroying freedom in Europe and have even brought about self-censorship and real censorship in the United States.  But there is one city in Holland where a new reality can be seen with the naked eye, more than anywhere else. Here, entire neighborhoods look as if they have been lifted from the Middle East, here stand the largest mosques in Europe, here parts of sharia law are applied in the courts and theaters, here many of the women go around veiled, here the mayor is a Muslim, the son of an imam.  This city is Rotterdam, Holland's second largest city by population, and the largest port in Europe by cargo volume.  Europeans, especially politicians, will not lift a finger to fight against Islamofascism.  And future generations will pay the price. 

    The hate-filled Quran (Koran) consistently uses offending remarks whenever it mentions non-Muslims. It describes non-Muslims as animals (Q.7: 179, Q.25: 44, Q.47: 12). Then it describes the Jews as donkeys Q. 62:5 then as apes and pigs (Q.2: 65, Q. 5:60, Q. 7:166). To be described as an animal is a bad insult in Arabic culture, but pigs, apes and donkeys are particularly bad.  "Religion of Peace," my ass. 

    ****************************************

    More people are killed by Islamists each year than in all 350 years of the Spanish Inquisition combined. (source)
     

    EXCUSES OVER THE YEARS THAT POLITICALLY CORRECT PEOPLE HAVE MADE FOR MUSLIMS KILLING NON-MUSLIMS IN AMERICA & ELSEWHERE

    ****************************************

     

    Please note, I do not and never would advocate violence against individual Muslims in any community.  For one thing, the guy you beat up with a baseball bat may turn out to have just escaped from some horrible Islamic regime.  Individual violence against Muslims or doing damage to mosques, etc., is just stupid and is also counterproductive as Muslim fanatics will show pictures of that all over the Muslim world to incite people against the West. 

    A good case can be made that Islam is a fanatical brotherhood masquerading as a religion, and, indeed, the adherents of Islam often act that way.   But, as individuals, a Muslim neighbor might possibly be more honest than a Christian neighbor.  It is only that the Muslim will have been brought up in a religion/brotherhood with a medieval mindset that is centuries behind the times and has a penchant for violence, especially against those who criticize the Koran and other aspects of Islam.   Winning the war against Muslim fanatics will take a long time and be hard-fought but, assuming people wake up to the clear and present danger of Islam, it can and will be won.  But we must demand that more and more moderate Muslims join the fight against fanatical Muslims.   We must demand that our leaders absolutely reject any "compromise" on our right to free expression.  Compromising with the fanatics pulls the rug out from the Muslim moderates desperately trying to reform and secularize Islam.  And we must never bow to Muslim demands to curb our hard-won freedom of expression.   And freedom of expression always includes satire and even insulting satire including satire of glorified tribal myths called religion.

    " U.S. Air Force - Travel Agents To Allah"

     


    Back to the Welcome Page

    "Barrett has a gift for taking us into cultures worlds apart from our own, displaying a reverence for their exotic and grotesque as well as their beauty and history....”

    - The Poisoned Pen Book Review

    *******************

    “The religion of the future will be a cosmic religion.  It should transcend a personal god and avoid dogmas and theology.  Covering both the natural and the spiritual, it should be based on a religious sense arising from the experience of all things, natural and spiritual and a meaningful unity.  Buddhism answers this description.  If there is any religion that would cope with modern scientific needs, it would be Buddhism.” - Albert Einstein